In Our Own Image: towards a transcentric Paganism

The cis Pagan world is fucking us over yet again, and I have had enough. This has been brewing in me for a while, after reading this fabulous post, and now I pour it out for you.

I demand transcentric imagery, gods and goddess with the wide variety of trans bodies, trans genitals, trans selves. I demand a Horned God with hairy breasts and the new Year sleeping in his swelling womb. I demand Artemis, wild and free, with a penis. And some pagans think that’s blasphemy.

Fuck. That. Noise.

Our bodies are sacred too. We, too, are God, are Goddess. I want a god who sings of his crescent-shaped Barge of Heaven, a Goddess at whose mighty rising the desert fills with green, like a pleasant garden. I want metaoidioplastic gods, and gods with soft, divided, fat-filled scrota, the shaft of whose penis is split into crescents like moons or bows. I want images of a goddess with her testicles pressed gently inside her body and radiant female power spilling from her dual cunts[1]; of a goddess with a long soft dangling clitoris, with fused labia gently cradling her ovaries outside her body.

I want us to take our gods back.

Gods with crescent-scarred chests, flat-breasted goddesses.

I want us to take our gods back.

I want white-haired winter gods whose vagina is the gate to the underworld. I want earth goddesses whose erection is the rising of the spring. Crones with shrivelled balls, fertility gods with juicy cunts. I want gods whose fierce bright male power is spilling milk, whose solar blaze is a bleeding hole between his legs.

Is this too much for you? We. Don’t. Care. Our power is ancient, and it will not be denied.

I am tired of having to look for myself in your symbols. You throw us scraps that reflect little of our selves: bearded goddesses, castrated gods. “Transgender deities”, unwanted by you or used to teach yourself such helpful, informative lessons about yourselves.

The Earth Goddess lies stretched beneath the summer sun, drifting pollen Her shining semen. The Earth God opens like the rose, phallic vines and labial petals. (He takes it up the arse as well, from a solar god with a cock of burning gold, forged in the heart of stars.)

I want a goddess who inseminates, a god who conceives; I want a god whose hard and swollen cock, leaking precome, is nothing to do with procreation but only with ecstasy, penetrable, half within and half without, giving and receiving the fierce bliss that transforms. A vaginoplastic goddess whose clit burns like a white diamond, pure sexual light. I want the god with the rams-head in his belly, curling-horned uterus that spills fierce masculine power: horned within and without.[2]

We have mysteries you have not dreamed of. And we are taking our magic back. We are finding gods in our own image, building our own Craft. You can run scared or you can join us, but we are not going away.


[[ADDENDUM, 3.3.11
I want to be clear: I’m not talking about third gender deities here. I’m talking about gods and goddesses who happen to be trans. About The God, and The Goddess, revealing themselves in trans forms. We need third gender, multigender, beyond-gender deities, yes, but that is not the focus of my personal work. Non-binary people are already doing that work, and have their stories and visions to share. I hope that you will seek them out.]]

[1] muffing – the sexual act of penetrating one or both of the inguinal canals – is described by Miranda Bellweather in Fucking Trans Women #0 as a sex act enjoyed by some trans women.

[2] (Do I want also the goddess who grieves because she cannot conceive, the god whose phallus is hidden, who mourns his body’s lack of life-giving seed? I don’t know. Our griefs may also be sacred, but claiming them is hard, and hard to speak to as someone who has never desired to reproduce.)

POSTSCRIPT
This post speaks mainly of binary-IDed trans people, because I’m binary-IDed myself and don’t feel I have any authority to speak for non-binary people. I’m not trying to exclude or erase, and I really hope non-binary people will chip into the conversation.


UPDATE

I am now accepting submissions for an upcoming online publication (format still in the works – it may be a periodic online journal/zine or it may be a less formal blog) on trans-centered Paganism. If you are interested, please contact me at solarclothoid (at) gmail (dot) com.

78 Comments

  1. femmeguy said,

    March 1, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    This is an astonishing call to action, thank you so much!

    I noticed you referred to my post in your initial paragraph. I do hope it was a source of inspiration by way of having something good to say and not by way of pissing you off with fail. If the latter, please tell me, because everything you say here is true, and if my post is in conflict with that, I have to apologize and figure out how to put it right.

    • femmeguy said,

      March 1, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      oh, you’ve changed the link to “fabulous.” and told me who you are. you are such a love, thank you. *huggle*

  2. Benji said,

    March 1, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Wow. Rage *on*.

    This was really seriously beautiful. Would you mind if I shared this on Facebook – I have quite a few trans Pagan friends who I think would benefit from seeing it.

  3. March 1, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    […] In Our Own Image: towards a transcentric Paganism I demand transcentric imagery, gods and goddess with the wide variety of trans bodies, trans genitals, trans selves. I demand a Horned God with hairy breasts and the new Year sleeping in his swelling womb. I demand Artemis, wild and free, with a penis. And some pagans think that’s blasphemy. […]

  4. Sierra said,

    March 1, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    I hesitated to reply, as a non-trans bi-but-dating-two-boys woman, but then it seemed to me that this sort of second-guessing and deciding that person X can only go with/belong to/comment on things for box X was somehow missing the point. Anyway.

    I love this post. I’ve been doing all sorts of Wikipedia-style link surfing among various blogs this afternoon and I ended up here at the end of the day, and I love what you say here and the imagery you present and the concepts you confront readers with – or, rather, challenge readers to confront themselves with. When I first had the sense that paganism (of some variety) was for me, way back when, it was -these- sorts of transgressive, powerful, visceral concepts I wanted. Instead, I found a lot of the same-old-same-old, the mainstream with all of its biases and whatever-normativity glazed over with gods that fit in nice tidy boxes and don’t challenge us to be -more- while trying to tell us that we are different. Not everywhere, not everyone, but enough that I backed away, wondered if I was looking for the wrong thing, second-guessed what I thought was the path for me.

    Thank you for writing this post. I hope that it speaks to many, as it did to me.

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 8:05 pm

      I would like Paganism – and the world at large – to reach a point where trans images of deity aren’t seen as “transgressive”. (And the same for trans*ness itself, of course.) I fear it’s going to be a very long, very uphill struggle.

      Thank you for letting me know the post spoke to you!

  5. Whisper said,

    March 1, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    This post is brilliant.

  6. Zaratha said,

    March 2, 2011 at 2:29 am

    This is some really powerful stuff. REALLY. Sierra pretty much nailed what I was feeling in her comment. My girlfriend and I had a conversation about this, and it’s almost like we’ve been incorporating these ideas subconsciously in our own shared practice (we’re a trad of two!) without even really realizing it.

    So this queer cislady is totally offering a fist bump of solidarity. Rock on with your bad self.

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 8:12 pm

      I’m so glad other people out there are doing this work too, and that it spoke to you. :)

  7. March 2, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    I am curious whether your position on anatomy-essentialist paganism is one of rejection (i.e. that basing worship around cisnormative genital function is simply wrong) or of insufficiency (i.e. there needs to be transcentric paganism as well). That is to say, do you intend this as an attack on the practice of cisnormative paganism, or an attack on the privileging of it as the primary (or, in the worst cases, exclusive) strain of paganism?

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 8:03 pm

      I’m not intending it as an attack on anything so much as a claiming of our own power and reality.

      We need a plurality of images, of all different states of being. My problem is with the *normativity*, not the cis – I want to see the *assumption* that images of deity will be cis gone. And I would very much like to see the development of a transcentric thread within Paganism.

      Apologies if any of this is unclear – I’m currently sick with a violent flu and possibly not as coherent as I would like to be.

      • March 2, 2011 at 11:32 pm

        No problem – just figured I’d clarify as well. In that case, I agree wholeheartedly. :)

  8. little light said,

    March 2, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    These conversations are a long time coming. I’m glad we’re having them. Thank you.

    http://takingsteps.blogspot.com/2007/01/seam-of-skin-and-scales.html may be relevant, too, for all that it’s four years old now.

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 7:47 pm

      I have actually been linking people all over to that post over the last couple of days, because I’ve loved it for four years and it was pretty formative for me in a lo of ways (so I am actually squeeingly slightly over you commenting here XD). Would you like me to edit the post to cite it as an influence?

      • little light said,

        March 2, 2011 at 8:34 pm

        I’m so glad it was so important to you! I’m always surprised and honored to discover how far and deep that piece has gone. Looking at all this mess going on, I’m kind of feeling like it’s time to shine it up again.

      • foxfetch said,

        March 2, 2011 at 9:01 pm

        Just dropped you an email, hope that’s okay. :)

  9. Ainslie said,

    March 2, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    So appreciating this. I linked to it in Facebook as well.

    Reading the comments on many websites, I began to go deep with remembering how I looked for gender liberation among the radical lesbian feminist community at a tender age, but didn’t get far- I was too young, too poor, too punk, too bisexual, and too masculine.

    There is something happening in this post that gives me the full sense of intimate gender realization I longed for then- and have been mourning ever since.

    My thanks transcend bounds.

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 7:56 pm

      I really appreciate you commenting here. I had a similar experience with the radical lesbian feminist community when I was very young, and while some of the spirituality of that time and space was massively important to me, it also hurt me very deeply over the years (and, I think, delayed me accepting my own gender). And while I’ve found something of a home in the queerer parts of Paganism, too often it feels like I’m there on tolerance and I find myself being third-gendered and pushed towards images of third/non/othergendered deities that I just don’t see myself and many of my loved ones reflected in.

      • Ainslie said,

        March 3, 2011 at 6:49 pm

        Well it’s nice to find you. I’ve been a smalltown expat the last 14 years, so alot of these themes get processed by me in the abstract, without burden of actual flesh and blood friends on the subject. That’s a blessing as well as a loneliness. I identify as a little more on the third gender side. I really liked the masculine energy being manifested through primary female sex characteristics parts of your post. Energy moves like that in me, namely. When I figured out I could be that I got into my body and into this life in a whole new way. To me that makes me third gendered, but I like that you can take the same theme and see it as polarized gender.

  10. credencedawg said,

    March 2, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    frickin awesome post!

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 8:09 pm

      Thank you – I’m so glad it’s speaking to people.

  11. Sonneillon said,

    March 2, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Another fist-bump from a queer cislady. XD I’m with you on this one. The gender binary in deity worship has NEVER sat well with me, but because I’m just a solitary kitchen witch, I don’t run into it as often as some others. The more involved I get in the online pagan community, the more I think this is something we should be tackling seriously as a way of testing and maturing our faiths.

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 7:45 pm

      Thank you! One thing I want to make clear: while I do firmly believe we need deities that are outside the gender binary as well, the deity images that I’ve talked about here are all very much situated *within* the binary. I’m not proposing “transgender gods” as opposed to “male and female gods” – I’m proposing images of male and female gods who are also trans.

  12. Ladybug said,

    March 2, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I agree with everything you said, and I am also a Dianic witch! I wrote a blog yesterday about how much I support you in your quest for this. You should totally have the experience of deity that reflects your body and heart. Hurray for your speaking out! http://ladybugsadventures.blogspot.com/2011/03/gender-and-magic.html

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      I’m glad that you want to support us, but I was saddened to see terminology such as “female-born women” in your blog post, and that you are continuing to uphold Dianic craft as only for cis women (and, I am assuming from your reference to “blood mysteries”, only ones who menstruate, which is of course not all cis women). I also wonder what your thoughts are on trans men and menstrual mysteries?

      My hope is that you will come to an understanding of how the terminology you’re using and principles you’re upholding are fundamentally cissexist and damaging to all people, and particularly trans women.

      • Ladybug said,

        March 2, 2011 at 11:19 pm

        I am sorry if my terminology is not correct. I am trying to learn how to speak with the right words to talk about how people perceive themselves, and am open to input.

        As far as trans men and menstrual mysteries go, if someone wants to create a magical circle to create that, I’d support their right to do so, and I’d happily assist if I were invited and respectfully abstain if I were not. The Amazon Dianic tradition is not meant to be a service for trans men, although I would stand by a trans man any day of the week to make sure he has access to menstrual mysteries if that’s important to him. It wouldn’t happen in this particular group, but that need not be a limitation to it actually happening.

    • Kate LBT said,

      March 3, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      To be honest? As long as you continue to make ceremonial differences between cissexual and transsexual women, I’m going to continue being a highly troublesome, inconvenient dyke. I don’t think it’s anyone’s right to have space “free” of a minority.

  13. Lysana McMillan said,

    March 2, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Goodness, yes, thank you. As a queer cis woman, I am another who finds this potent and with great potential. Also as a launching pad for more imagery. We are as a meta-tradition enslaved to the gender binary in ways we have yet to fully appreciate or even visit. All female bodies are goddess bodies. All male bodies are god bodies. We do need to claim that. Thank you again.

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      Thank you! “All female bodies are goddess bodies. All male bodies are god bodies.” That’s it, indeed.

      As I replied to a poster above, I find it important to emphasise that the deities I’m talking about here are definitely binary-gendered. Since I’m not non-binary myself, I don’t feel I can talk with authority about non-binary people finding images of deity that reflect them and practices that center their reality and experiences. I’m currently doing some reading online and off to educate myself more about this, but would definitely rather center nonbinary voices in that discussion. :)

    • C. Adonai said,

      May 4, 2011 at 4:04 pm

      Can you specify exactly what you mean by “male bodies” and “female bodies” here? Because your comment sounded very non-trans. I’m FTM, born intersexed… and the only way my body is “male” is because I beg myself to believe it is so.

      • December 5, 2011 at 9:03 am

        I think what she’s saying is all bodies that belong to men are male bodies and all bodies that belong to women are female bodies. I’m assuming that because she commented in support if this post, and that’s kinda the point of it :)

  14. Erynn said,

    March 2, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    That’s some beautiful stuff. Rock on.

  15. Rabbit said,

    March 2, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    “We need a plurality of images, of all different states of being. My problem is with the *normativity*, not the cis – I want to see the *assumption* that images of deity will be cis gone. And I would very much like to see the development of a transcentric thread within Paganism.”

    I love this. I agree completely. I would/will revel alongside you when this happens. In the end, I’m all about “all/and” for our worship, rather than either/or. I still also need my “breeder” time, as well, and I don’t apologize for that. But I truly believe that ALL/AND is possible and desirable for us, as a community of pagans.

    With respect,
    Rabbit

    • foxfetch said,

      March 2, 2011 at 10:52 pm

      Thanks for commenting! I’m a little confused as to what you mean by “‘breeder’ time”, because many trans people are perfectly reproductive (as I hope some of the images I proposed show)?

  16. March 2, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    […] has a pretty bad ass manifesto demanding an expansion of our sacred images beyond the gender binary. Really, go read it, […]

  17. March 3, 2011 at 2:19 am

    […] to follow up on last week’s entry – obviously, He’s a trans man as well. My brothers who are trans are as clear avatars of the masculine divine as any cis man, and it’s […]

  18. March 3, 2011 at 2:33 am

    Absolutely fabulous stuff, and I’m overjoyed to read this!

    As a metagender person, I wish there were a physiology that aligned with what I feel internally…and perhaps it’s just time for an entirely new deity. As a recon, I certainly like finding ancient and often forgotten deities for various purposes; but, it’s a new world, and perhaps it’s time for a deity that has never been seen before, and will never be seen at all unless one of us says something…

    In any case, I’ll be linking to your post in one of my follow-ups soon. Thank you again for your brilliance here!

    • foxfetch said,

      March 3, 2011 at 2:50 am

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it! The gods are constantly revealing themselves in new ways, and I would love it if you kept me updated on work you might do in the line you’re talking about.

      • March 3, 2011 at 3:52 am

        I will certainly do that! I have a few notions, but will need to consult some folks I know about them a little bit before I move into action on this…I’ll keep you updated, in any case!

      • November 21, 2011 at 1:58 am

        Hello again!

        I have written something further on this topic now, largely inspired by your post here, which can be found, with a rather unassuming title, here.

        Also, I’d like to speak further with you regarding a larger project–specifically, the queer magic anthology I’m editing. If you’d be able to comment on my blog on that post, I’ll write you an e-mail afterwards to follow up, if you’d be interested.

        Again, thanks so much for your excellent work in this regard!

  19. March 3, 2011 at 3:46 am

    […] foxfetch has done a very excellent call for new gods in the image of trans people. I’m all for that, and perhaps in the near future, I’ll be writing more on that subject […]

  20. kurgarra said,

    March 3, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Wow, this was fucking powerful. I literally wept when I read it. Rock on.

    • foxfetch said,

      March 3, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      I just read your blog post, and when I hit the point about a “wild hope” I felt pretty tearful with recognition myself. I’m so glad it spoke to you. (And yes, I’m a trans man. :) )

      • kurgarra said,

        March 3, 2011 at 5:23 pm

        Ah, I’m glad I got that right! I identified as a trans man for seven years so I try my best to be aware and respectful of how people identify.

        And thank you for reading my post!

  21. March 3, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    […] I read this call for a transcentric Paganism. A wild hope took hold of me and I started seeing visions of a blue goddess with an erect cock, and […]

  22. Bygul said,

    March 3, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    I somewhat agree and I somewhat disagree.

    For the record my background is I’m genderqueer who works at a queer agency and actually run a Third Gender ritual at the largest local Pagan festival (which includes generally 600-800 people each year). People if they wish may go to the Men’s Ritual, Womyn’s Ritual or Third Gender ritual based on their own personal identification and not based on sex.

    What I agree with is that in Paganism we need more images that properly reflect the diversity of gender and sex especially when in context of generic conceptions of divinity. What I disagree with is re-appropriating deities whose gender and sex are clearly defined. Why should we change Artemis when Dionysus and Hermaphroditus are right there (keeping with the Hellenic examples). I think there is more need to research deities and the social roles of those who go beyond “the straight line.” As the history is there it just has been re-appropriated by cis people.

    I would however be interested in the zine idea. I’d be open to submitting some of the Third Gender rituals we’ve done as well as possibly some other things.

    • Kate LBT said,

      March 4, 2011 at 11:50 am

      Artemis has crossgendered characteristics, and historically had transgender priestesses – they’ve been hidden away by modern pagans who seem to think that desire trumps historical accuracy.

      • Bygul said,

        March 4, 2011 at 12:43 pm

        I could agree on the “trans priestesses” though of course the concept of trans didn’t exist at that point (other concepts do). I would however disagree that she has crossgendered characteristics perhaps you know of something that I don’t?

  23. Yewtree said,

    March 3, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    What a beautiful post. I love it. Bring on the trans deities. Why should deities be limited by gender? I’ve always thought that they are beyond gender.

  24. Jibrail said,

    March 3, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I loved this post! I am biologically male, a witch, and though I usually have to stick with the “gay” label, I have found queer deity to be preferred above all others, especially the kind that are not deficient or broken, but who are queer and fulfilled. Agdistis comes to mind; the hermaphroditic deity the Gods of old Greece were so eager to defeat. Or Shiva in Hir dual form as God/dess.
    I applaud your post, and will do my best to be aware of these issues in my own magical workings. No, its not “transgressive” necessarily… what it absolutely is is holy and sacred. Blessed Be.

    • kurgarra said,

      March 4, 2011 at 8:24 am

      I do think it’s interesting that binary-identified trans folk are often told to go to third gender and/or intersexed deities. But I don’t think it’s particularly fair. There’s nothing wrong with these deities, of course, but there needs to be a way of seeing oneself in the divine, such as seeing the Goddess as a trans woman or the God as a trans man.

      • Bygul said,

        March 4, 2011 at 12:56 pm

        That isn’t my experience with Paganism here generally you venerate whatever deity you wish to do so regardless of your gender or the gender of the deity. Certainly the Men’s Rituals here tend to focus on Gods and Womyn’s Goddesses. Even the Men’s retreat here goes by “”people who identify and live as men, regardless of biological sex (past or present)” are considered to be “men.” And it seems the same with the Womyn’s Retreat as well. I think part of it is due to the Canadian climate which generally is more inclusive then some others as well as the strong active presence of Druid Groves, Heathen Kindreds (which I am a part) and others.

        But I do agree if one is generically looking at “Goddess” or “God” they should include the full spectrum of womyn and men which includes trans people.

    • kurgarra said,

      March 4, 2011 at 8:27 am

      Urgh, that got sent to the wrong person. Sorry, Jibrail! I was trying to reply to Bygul.

  25. March 3, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    […] I read this call for a transcentric Paganism. A wild hope took hold of me and I started seeing visions of a blue goddess with an erect cock, and […]

  26. March 4, 2011 at 1:08 am

    This is one of the most passionate pieces of pagan writing I’ve ever read. It’s gloriously fierce – grabbed me and didn’t let go.

    I’m only just coming to terms with my own genderqueerness, after over 40 years of feeling terrible for not being ‘normal’, and increasing alienation from gender-binary paganism. This gives me hope.

  27. Jenna said,

    March 5, 2011 at 1:01 am

    Here goes my response.

    Gender is not dual. Deity in pure form is beyond sex and beyond all constructions of gender. The lenses through which we view deity, what we call gods, DO have gender. And sexuality. And sensuality.

    I am bisexual. I am a cis woman. I am a butch woman who desires the feminine in both women and men. I appreciate the divine masculine and the divine feminine, but I was at a ritual last year where the divine both and the divine neither were called.

    Now I read this and I realize that as Deity encompasses straight men and straight women and gay men and gay women and those of us who choose a life partner and love and those who spread joy in touching many… As Deity encompasses those who are both or who are neither. So, Deity must encompass those who have walked across the bridge between the two, who have faced that deep inner conflict that I cannot fully understand.

    Here is my thought, though, as a cis woman who has a good friend who is a trans woman…that there is a divine mystery nobody here has mentioned….

    …and that is the *change itself*. The *process* of accepting one’s identity as a transgendered individual and transforming one’s physical form to match one’s innermost soul. How can that be anything BUT a divine mystery? How can that…for all that it is midwived by humans…be any LESS a divine mystery than giving birth to a child, or ‘bleeding for a week and not dying’. Maybe I can’t understand. I’m cis. But that’s what comes to me.

    • Kate LBT said,

      March 12, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      That’s what brought me to Paganism in the first place. What is magick about if not about transformation – and transformation is exactly what we seek to create.

  28. March 5, 2011 at 9:32 am

    […] Finally, some folks who’ve weighed in previously, Kenaz Filan and P. Sufenas Virius Lupus, have done so again, Sannion tries to find the humor in hurtful words, and  Foxfetch writes a manifesto demanding “transcentric imagery, gods and goddess with the wide variety of trans bodies, trans genitals,… […]

  29. March 5, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    […] blog contributions from Star Foster and Foxfetch. "Lilith" – based on the painting by John […]

  30. michaelsebastianlux said,

    March 6, 2011 at 5:50 am

    Beautiful. This is sheer poetry and I can agree with you 111% with your call.

  31. March 6, 2011 at 6:10 am

    […] is sticking with me and that I highly suggest (again!) reading, if you have not already done so, is foxfetch’s clarion call for trans deities, “In Our Own Image: towards a transcentric pag… This is one of the most passionate messages on this issue that I’ve thus far read, and one […]

  32. Wyse1 said,

    March 7, 2011 at 4:44 am

    You presented valued points and beautiful imagery Foxfetch. I am a woman who supports the rights of all females no matter how one comes to our beautiful space. You are simply wonderful and I am happy to stand beside you.

  33. March 7, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    We need 5 genders. That should keep us in peace until the next level of understanding comes along. Excepting the gods of course.

    • P. Sufenas Virius Lupus said,

      March 12, 2011 at 9:32 pm

      Why stop at five?

      I’m a polytheist, so the more “poly-” any category can be, the more comfortable I am, and the more freedom thereby allowed…

  34. Thaniel said,

    March 7, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    What a delightful read to start the week with! There can’t be enough shaking up of spurious boundaries, in my book. I’m repeatedly astounded by how so many deal with The Sacred–which by its nature has no boundaries–by declaring that their own limited bounded experience of It is all of It, and the only experience of It that is valid.
    I love the poster’s idea of honoring the change itself as a Sacred Mystery. I suspect that the only limitation to that would be that not many spend any more time in flux there than they have to; therefore I’m not sure who would actually be willing to *stay* there & celebrate that process over time. I don’t mean to say that it *shouldn’t* happen. I welcome seeing what develops!
    Foxfetch: Have you read any of Raven Kaldera’s books? As a trans intersex pagan he’s addressed some of this himself. I’d love to hear your thoughts on his writings.
    In conclusion, the small-minded & fearful will always TRY to control our vision of The Sacred, but never succeed for long. The Sacred is Life Itself and cannot be contained. It reveals Itself constantly if we listen. Good on ya for hearing the call!

  35. May 20, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I am a genderqueer very interested in developing a transcentric Paganism. I am also interested in lay Pagan monasticism, and am desiring to find or invent a gender-neutral term of address rather than “brother” or “sister,” “monk” or “nun.”

  36. Aaron said,

    October 26, 2011 at 5:02 am

    You are freaking wonderful. I’m just beginning my journey into paganism and this was definitely something that held me back. Thank you for this post, it’s amazing, and it’s very nice to know that I’m not going into this alone.

  37. November 20, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    […] PantheaCon, some of which were covered on or were included in this blog. Then, around March 1st, this post appeared, and I read it with great […]

  38. December 1, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    […] In Our Own Image: towards a transcentric paganism  A snippet from it: I am tired of having to look for myself in your symbols. You throw us scraps that reflect little of our selves: bearded goddesses, castrated gods. “Transgender deities”, unwanted by you or used to teach yourself such helpful, informative lessons about yourselves. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "f2f4f4"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "888888"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "b91313"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "c8dddd"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "b91313"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "religion"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "books"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "deities-2"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "deity"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "goddess"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "goddesses"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "gods"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "pagan"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "paganism"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "trans"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "transgender"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "transsexual"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Leave a Comment by Dreki on December 1, 2011  •  Permalink Posted in Uncategorized Tagged deities, deity, goddess, goddesses, gods, pagan, paganism, trans, transgender, transsexual […]

  39. December 5, 2011 at 9:33 am

    This is a post I’ve come back to several times over the last few months, it’s really powerful and there’s a lot of good stuff for both trans and cis folk here.

    I’m a trans man and while I started my transition over ten years ago, it’s only been this year that I managed to shift the final remenants of the barriers I put up when I first understood that it wasn’t acceptable for me to be male – the result of this is that I now find myself in touch with my “maleness” in a way that I didn’t have access to before. Since the summer I’ve gone from feeling like a pansexual, gender-fluid person to a straight, binary identified male (quite a shift!). While I feel much happier and more solid now, this shift is something that I don’t really understand. I’ve been trying to find resources and writings that reflect my experiance, or at least can help me settle into my new identity and find the magic in it, but I’ve not come up with much. I think the most interesting thing for me is that, after years of finding binary, hetetro magic and spirituality impossible to work with, I’m finding myself drawn to it as something that I think would be very powerful for me.

    The problems I’m finding is that generally when hetero spirituality is talked about and used it’s pretty much always seen as something natural and obvious, something that needs no introduction as it’s so “normal”. I feel like I’m coming at the “heterosexual mysteries” from a queer perspective, questioning what they mean and questioning what heterosexuality, both in magic and in life, looks like and how it works.

    I guess the point of this little ramble is to ask if you (or anyone else) know any more places I can get info about binary identified trans spiritual practice? You talk about how we need a trans-centric strand in paganism, and I’m just wondering if the begginings of one already exists somewhere?

    Also I might write something for the publication you talk about (if it’s not too late by now!).

  40. Kate LBT said,

    March 2, 2012 at 11:37 am

    A year later and no surprise, it’s still happening.

  41. March 3, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    […] a different direction, Foxfetch has this gorgeous post that looks at primary and secondary sexual characteristics and reproductive functions as Holy […]

  42. Em said,

    March 6, 2012 at 12:46 am

    This is so beautiful. It made me want to cry, and at the same time memorize it. These are words I want to hold very close to my heart.
    Thank you so much. I can’t wait to see what this grows into!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

